Sunday, September 19, 2010

LTSP Alum Wolfgang Herz-Lane installed as Del-Md Synod Bishop

The Rev. Worfgang Herz-Lane was installed as bishop of the Delaware-Maryland Synod of the ELCA on Saturday, September 18, 2010 in Baltimore, MD. Bishop Herz-Lane is a 2001 MDiv graduate of The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia (LTSP). He served as a parish pastor in Camden, NJ before being elected to the six year term as synod bishop at the synod's 2010 Assembly on June 12. ELCA Presiding Bishop the Rev. Mark Hanson delivered the sermon. Also installed at the service as an assistant to the bishop was LTSP alum the Rev. Ed Kay.

The Baltimore Sun's story is here:,0,2837679.story

The synod has more on the story and an interview with Bishop Herz-Lane on its website:

Monday, September 13, 2010

Rev. Richard Stephens, class of 1960, has died

The Rev. Richard D. Stephens, 78, of Harleysville, retired pastor of Christ Lutheran Church in Kulpsville, died Thursday, Sept. 9, of kidney cancer at Grand View Hospital in Sellersville.

His obituary was published Monday, September 13, in the Philadelphia Inquirer:

funeral will be at 1 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 14, at Christ Lutheran Church, 2211 Sumneytown Pike, Kulpsville, Pa. 19443. Friends may call from 10 a.m. Donations may be made to the church.

Thursday, September 9, 2010

LTSP Begins 147th Academic Year with Worship; Convocation features alumni experience in ministry

LTSP celebrated the start of the 147th academic year with Opening Day worship, convocation and a picnic on Tuesday, September 7, 2010.

LTSP President The Rev. Dr. Philip D. Krey preached and presided at worship. Watch his sermon:
Faculty members The Rev. Dr. Karyn L. Wiseman, who joined the faculty as Assistant Professor of Homiletics, and The Rev. Dr. Wil Gafney, member of the faculty who was awarded the position Associate Professor, Hebrew and Old Testament (with tenure), were installed, along with a number of new seminary staff. (in the photo below: l-r - worship assistant seminarian Rosemarie Doucette, LTSP President Philip Krey, LTSP Dean J. Paul. Rajashekar, Prof. Wiseman and Prof. Gafney. See the slide show below and online gallery for more photos)
The 2010 opening convocation highlights Theological Education in the Changed Context of the Church and Society from the perspective of LTSP graduates the Rev. Maritza Dolich and the Rev. Carlton Rodgers, along with LTSP Dean J. Paul Rajashekar and President Philip D. Krey. Both pastors lead congregations in the Philadelphia region. They address the theme through their experiences in their contexts as pastors in a world that continues to change.
Opening Day 2010 in pictures: